This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.1
Property location
9.4
Facilities
8.9
Staff
9.7
Value
9.2
Reviews
    Samantha
    gb
    10
    22 February 2018
    Amazing! You won’t be disappointed
    Amazing bed and nothing too much trouble for owners.
    Melissa
    ca
    9.2
    18 February 2018
    Beautiful mountain views and wonderful knowledgeable host, a short walk from downtown
    Windy season - be sure to prepare for extremely strong winds in the area and on the property. Our room was a bit finicky with the hot and cold temperatures on the shower but it still worked!
    Comfortable and spacious room, very welcoming and helpful host (Christian), and just a few mins outside/down the road from town.
    Pauli Laiho
    fi
    10
    11 February 2018
    The view from the room was spectacular and the staff (Christian, Roy and the whole family was amazing).
    Robin
    gb
    8.3
    9 February 2018
    This was a very comfortable, well priced room only a short drive from the wildlife reserves.
    The location affords a spectacular view, enhanced by enormous windows in the room. Unfortunately that means the rooms are exposed to the incessant wind, and the resulting noise made sleep difficult.
    We arrived very early and the room was quickly made ready. The view was spectacular. The shower worked, the room spacious, the lights were good for reading and the kitchen well equipped. The owner was friendly and informative.
    Peter
    ca
    8.8
    7 February 2018
    Can't beat the view.
    Finding the hotel was tricky. We had a car but otherwise it would be a 10-15? min walk into town.
    The view was outstanding. The room (all separate units) was spacious. It had facilities to cook which we didn't use and a small eating area to take in the view. Bed was ok. Christian was extremely helpful and a great source of info.
    Katy
    gb
    10
    5 February 2018
    Can’t think of anything!
    Absolutely beautiful views - breathtaking Comfy large bed Good bathroom and kitchen facilities Christian was super friendly and helpful
    Dirk Zander
    de
    8.8
    5 February 2018
    The additional single bed was not very comfy.
    The view, the rainbows and the winds
    Marcelle
    ca
    10
    4 February 2018
    The strength of the wind, but it is normal in January
    The environment, The advice of the owner about the best thing to do, the best restaurants, The proximity of all services of Santa Elena.
    Martin
    gb
    8.8
    2 February 2018
    Friendly and helpful hosts and good location in this area. Just a 10 minute walk into town.
    Christian is super helpful and a great source of local information. On our first day he even drove my wife and I into town. The views from the bungalows are stunning. This is great base for exploring Monteverde.
    Nicole
    ca
    9.2
    28 January 2018
    Best location in Monteverde! Incredible views and superb customer service!
    Our only suggestion would be to bring ear plugs during the windy season. The wind gets very loud at night and vibrates off of the glass windows.
    We loved out stay at Rainbow Valley Lodge! The owner Christian went above and beyond to welcome us, show us the town and help us coordinate our excursion and further travels. The view from our Double Mountain View room was spectacular. We happened to get engaged while in Monteverde, and Christian was kind enough to buy us a bottle of wine in congratulations. We would highly recommend this place for your stay- you can't beat this view and location!
    Nick Billyeald
    ca
    10
    28 January 2018
    Awesome views and service
    No complaints about the property. Does get real windy though!
    Christian was awesome. From the moment we booked he emailed with information and directions. He then greeted us with ideas on what to do during our limited stay. He advised a nearby hotel (hotel tropico) for sunset views that did not dissapoint! The place was a perfect size with nice patio overlooking gorgeous valley views. Comfy bed and coffee, fridge, microwave. Only a couple minutes from town but nice and quiet.
    Palmberger
    de
    10
    28 January 2018
    Great room with a fantastic view! We’ll equiped so you can make breakfast in the room. Very helpful and friendly owners! Monteverde and the rainbow valley lodge is one of our favourits!
    Jonas
    fi
    9.6
    24 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Emma
    gb
    8.8
    22 January 2018
    The wind and rain can be quite loud, Christian did warn us about this so it wasn’t a huge issue it just might be worth bringing ear plugs! The property is a bit on the way out of town, however this provides the element of privacy and seclusion so it’s a worthwhile offset.
    The view from our room was beautiful, and it sure lived up to its name. We saw a rainbow at least once a day looking out to the valley! It was clean, comfortable and it’s obvious that Christian (the owner) cares a lot about his business and his guests. There was a small kitchenette with a fridge, toaster, microwave and coffee machine with free coffee included, which was very handy for breakfast and making snacks for our hike around the cloud forest. There’s a huge supermarket in town, Christian gave us a lift as he was heading into town, he showed us around on the first night and we walked back. It takes about twenty minutes to walk to/from the main centre of Santa Elena - and at night you’ll definitely need a torch as it’s along the main road. It felt very private and secluded, our own little patch of paradise for a few short days We’ll definitely stay here again when we come back to Costa Rica. We didn’t travel with a rented car so struggled at times. We couldn’t be more thankful to Christian, he absolutely made our trip to Monteverde! He took time when we first arrived to show us a map of the area and ask us what we’d most like to do, assisted with booking excursions (we did zip lining, a coffee tour and a morning hike at Monteverde Cloud Forest in our three day stay) and helped with booking taxis when we needed them, recommending restaurants and helped with our transport to our next hotel. He’s a real gem, knows the area like the back of his hand and will go out of his way to make sure you’re happy and busy experiencing everything Monteverde has to offer
    michal
    il
    8.8
    21 January 2018
    Great place, amazing view
    The shower is beautiful (and there is even a window with a view) but the water pressure was pretty bad
    The hotel is great. The best view in Monteverde. The hotel owner is a wonderful person who helped us with everything we needed, starting from places and tours to do and ended in resturants. The area of the hotel is close to all the main places but still feels very private and spaced. There is no breakfast but the kitchen has everything we needed (and more) and there are few supermarkets close by.
    William
    gb
    10
    16 January 2018
    A fantastic location with amazing lodges overlooking beautiful scenes of Monteverde.
    Some days the weather became a little unpredictable due to the area and nature however this became part of the experience.
    Christian and his brother were so accommodating. When we arrived Christian was very hospitable, welcoming us (and his dog canon). To make our stay more enjoyable Christian gave us advice and recommendations on where to go, visit and eat. He would also offer to take us into Santa Elena. The lodges are fantastic too, brilliantly decorated with all the modern appliances with stunning views. We would highly recommend Rainbow Valley Lodge.
    Denns
    gb
    10
    14 January 2018
    Highly recommend
    Amazing place, great staff. We will definitely come back. Highly recommended.
    Carol Beard
    au
    10
    13 January 2018
    Best Bushland retreat.
    Definately need a vehicle.
    The property was located just outaidw town in a vwry peaceful bushland setting. The villas were well appointed with a comfy bed with best view of the mountains and kitchen/ dining area. The, hot water showers and wifi worked well. The balcony was a great place to drink our morning coffee or night cap. Christian was knowledgeable and very helpful with local information.
    Jade
    au
    10
    11 January 2018
    beautiful view and room! very nice!
    the shower wasnt the greatest! thats the only thing I would say in a negative way
    The scenery was amazing, there is literally a rainbow all the time! the rooms are nice! the staff were friendly and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival.... so nice!
    Cecilia
    se
    9.2
    10 January 2018
    Excellent host, big house with a view.
Loading reviews
Close